RMA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RMA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • Published first-time/retest pass rates are 40%/0% for July 1 to September 30, 2025 (a small cohort).
  • Across October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2025, the first-time rate was 35% and the retest rate 55%.
  • Passing is criterion-referenced using Modified Angoff standard setting, so no fixed percentage score guarantees a pass.
  • The exam has 115 four-option questions, 100 scored and 15 unscored, in three hours.

The Published Pass Rates, Exactly as Reported

Candidates searching for the Retirement Management Advisor pass rate usually want one clean number. The Investments & Wealth Institute (IWI) does publish pass-rate data on its exam page, but it is reported by cohort window and split between first-time takers and retesters, so a single headline figure does not exist. Here is what has been published:

Reporting windowFirst-time takersRetesters
July 1 to September 30, 202540%0%
October 1, 2023 to September 30, 202535%55%

These are historical cohorts. They are not 2026 results, and they are not a prediction of your personal chance of passing. Any site that quotes a crisp 2026 pass rate for this credential is either extrapolating or borrowing figures from somewhere else. For the full picture of how difficult candidates find the exam, see our complete difficulty guide for the RMA exam.

Source discipline: The only authoritative home for these numbers is the issuer's own exam page. When IWI updates its reporting windows, those figures supersede anything in this article, including the two rows above. Check the issuer page before quoting a rate to a colleague or an employer.

How to Read Those Cohort Numbers

Raw percentages can mislead if you ignore what sits behind them. Three points matter for the Retirement Management Advisor exam specifically.

The short window is a small sample

The July 1 to September 30, 2025 window covers a single quarter. A professional certification that requires executive education, a capstone and three years of verified experience before the exam does not produce huge cohorts. In a small group, a handful of candidates moves the percentage substantially. The 40% first-time figure for that quarter should be read as a snapshot, not a trend line.

The 0% retest figure is not a verdict on retesters

A 0% retest rate in one quarter looks alarming, but it almost certainly reflects very few retesters sitting in that window. Compare it with the 55% retest rate across the longer two-year window and the more reasonable reading emerges: over a longer period, retesters passed at a higher rate than first-time takers. We would not build a strategy on that comparison either, because retesters are a self-selected group who have already seen the exam format and typically diagnosed their weak sections. For a deeper look at what your first attempt demands, our RMA study guide for passing on the first attempt walks through preparation in detail.

The two-year window is the more stable reference

If you need one comparison point, the October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2025 window (35% first-time, 55% retest) covers a longer period and is less sensitive to quarterly noise. Even so, it is a descriptive statistic about past candidates. It says nothing about how a well-prepared candidate with strong retirement-planning experience will perform.

Why There Is No Universal Cutoff Percentage

The Retirement Management Advisor exam is criterion-referenced. IWI's candidate materials describe the passing standard as set through Modified Angoff standard setting, with statistical equating applied across exam forms. In plain terms, panels of subject-matter experts judge how a minimally competent retirement advisor would perform on each question, and the passing standard is derived from those judgments rather than from a fixed percentage or from ranking candidates against one another.

That has practical consequences:

  • Pass rates are not curved. A strong cohort does not force others to fail, and a weak cohort does not lower the bar.
  • Different forms, equated difficulty. Statistical equating adjusts for the fact that one version of the exam may be slightly harder than another, so the standard stays consistent.
  • "I need 70%" is a myth. No published universal percentage applies. If you want to understand what is and is not disclosed, read our dedicated explainer on the RMA passing score.
What to do with this: Because the cut score is not a round number, practice-test percentages are diagnostic, not predictive. Use them to find weak sections, then drill those sections rather than chasing an arbitrary target score.

What the Exam Actually Tests

Pass-rate numbers only mean something if you understand the exam behind them. The Retirement Management Advisor exam is organized into three weighted domains that contain 11 knowledge sections:

Domain 1: The Retirement Opportunity (18%)

This domain frames the market and the mindset. It is the lightest of the three but still worth 18% of the exam.

  • The Retirement Landscape (5%)
  • The Retirement Mindset (8%)
  • The Ethical Advisor (5%)

Domain 2: The Retirement Client (41%)

This domain covers how you discover, analyze and assess the client's retirement situation.

  • Client Discovery and Analysis (15%)
  • Assessing Retirement Readiness (13%)
  • Retirement Risk Management (13%)

Domain 3: Retirement Planning Technical Design (41%)

This domain is where portfolio construction, decisions and documentation come together.

  • Retirement Portfolio Allocations (10%)
  • Key Retirement Planning Decisions (12%)
  • Implementation Strategies (9%)
  • Life in Transition (6%)
  • Retirement Policy Statement (4%)

For a section-by-section treatment, see our guide to all three RMA exam domains.

Where the Points Live: The 11 Sections

Domains 2 and 3 are tied at 41% each, so together they account for 82% of the exam. Only 18% comes from Domain 1. If your day job is portfolio management or technical planning, the heavy domains will feel familiar, but the client-facing sections may still surprise you.

Look at the section weights as a list ranked by size:

  1. Client Discovery and Analysis: 15%
  2. Assessing Retirement Readiness: 13%
  3. Retirement Risk Management: 13%
  4. Key Retirement Planning Decisions: 12%
  5. Retirement Portfolio Allocations: 10%
  6. Implementation Strategies: 9%
  7. The Retirement Mindset: 8%
  8. Life in Transition: 6%
  9. The Retirement Landscape: 5%
  10. The Ethical Advisor: 5%
  11. Retirement Policy Statement: 4%

The top four sections alone account for 53% of the exam. A candidate who is thin on discovery, readiness assessment, risk management or the major planning decisions has little room to compensate elsewhere.

A note on the Retirement Policy Statement weight: The current IWI exam-topics webpage lists this section at 4%. The Candidate Handbook, effective August 2023, prints a conflicting 14% for the same subtopic. Treat the current webpage's 4% as the operative figure and confirm it directly with IWI if it matters to your study plan. Also note the detailed curriculum document is marked "Revised 2022," while the issuer page describes a 2023 curriculum refresh, so do not assume a new 2025 or 2026 syllabus exists.

Format, Logistics and Retake Mechanics

Question format

The exam contains 115 multiple-choice questions to be completed in three hours. Of those, 100 are scored and 15 are unscored pretest questions, and you will not be told which are which. The handbook specifies four-option items that test recall, application and analysis, so expect scenario-style questions that require you to apply planning concepts to a client situation rather than just define terms. The exam is closed-book.

Testing environment

Online proctoring runs through Yardstick Measure/ProctorU, brands that are part of Meazure Learning. Institute-hosted capstone events also offer in-person testing. Approved financial calculators are permitted but must have memory cleared, and the handbook allows an erasable whiteboard subject to proctor rules. Verify your calculator model against the approved list before exam day.

Cost and the retake

The first examination sitting is included in program enrollment. The listed program prices are not stand-alone exam fees: RMA Direct is USD 3,495 for the August 10 to December 31, 2026 enrollment period, and the Chicago Booth hybrid route is USD 3,995. Rescheduling and retake fees are currently USD 295 for members and USD 395 for nonmembers, which supersedes the older USD 225 rescheduling amount printed in the handbook. A retake requires a 30-day wait. Our RMA certification cost breakdown covers the full pricing picture, and the RMA exam dates and scheduling guide explains the windows.

Why the retake math matters: A failed first attempt costs you at least USD 295 (member) or USD 395 (nonmember) plus a mandatory 30-day wait. That is a real incentive to be selective about when you sit, and it is the best argument for doing a full diagnostic before you schedule.

How the Prerequisites Shape Who Sits the Exam

The pass rate describes a population, and the population is already filtered. Before a candidate reaches the exam, the certification path requires a background check, three full years of verified financial-services experience, completion of executive education and the capstone, and passage of the exam. After passing, there is an initial certification fee, a license agreement and compliance with the professional code. Our RMA requirements guide details each prerequisite.

This matters for interpreting the data. Everyone sitting the exam is an experienced practitioner who has already invested in a substantial program. A 35% first-time pass rate among that group is a genuine signal that the exam tests applied competence beyond what daily experience alone provides. Experienced advisors sometimes underestimate sections outside their routine: an investment-focused advisor may be rusty on Life in Transition, and a planning-focused advisor may be rusty on Retirement Portfolio Allocations.

Passing also unlocks renewal obligations: certification renews every two years with 40 CE hours (including two ethics hours and one tax or regulatory hour), compliance disclosures and a USD 995 renewal fee that includes membership. If you are weighing the long-term commitment, see our ROI analysis of the RMA certification.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight

Generic study advice is less useful here than a plan tied to the exam blueprint. One sensible approach is to allocate your calendar in proportion to section weights, front-loading the heavy sections while your energy is highest.

Weeks 1-2

Client Discovery, Readiness and Risk (41% of the exam)

  • Client Discovery and Analysis (15%)
  • Assessing Retirement Readiness (13%)
  • Retirement Risk Management (13%)
Weeks 3-4

Technical Design (41% of the exam)

  • Key Retirement Planning Decisions (12%)
  • Retirement Portfolio Allocations (10%)
  • Implementation Strategies (9%), Life in Transition (6%), Retirement Policy Statement (4%)
Week 5

Opportunity Domain and Weak-Spot Review (18% plus gaps)

  • The Retirement Landscape, The Retirement Mindset, The Ethical Advisor
  • Re-drill whichever section your practice results flag as weakest

The logic is simple: the sections you cannot afford to miss come first, and the lighter Domain 1 material is the best place to add breadth late in the plan. Pair this schedule with timed practice, since the exam allots three hours for 115 questions. Our one-page RMA cheat sheet works well as a final-week review, and you can test yourself against realistic scenario questions on the RMA Exam Prep practice test site.

Key Takeaway

Treat the published pass rates as context, not destiny. The numbers describe past cohorts of experienced advisors under a criterion-referenced standard. Your outcome depends on mastering the 82% of the exam weighted in the Retirement Client and Technical Design domains, so spend your preparation there and take diagnostic practice questions at the main practice test before you pay to sit.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Retirement Management Advisor first-time pass rate?

IWI published a first-time rate of 40% for July 1 to September 30, 2025, and 35% for the longer October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2025 window. These are historical cohorts, not 2026 results, so check the issuer's exam page for updates.

Do retesters pass more often than first-time candidates?

Over the two-year window, the published retest rate (55%) exceeded the first-time rate (35%). The single-quarter retest figure was 0%, which likely reflects a very small group. Retesters are also self-selected, so avoid reading the comparison as a guarantee.

What percentage do I need to score to pass?

There is no universal cutoff percentage. The exam is criterion-referenced, using Modified Angoff standard setting and statistical equating across forms. See our RMA passing score article for what is and is not disclosed.

How many questions are on the exam, and how long do I have?

The exam has 115 multiple-choice questions, 100 scored and 15 unscored pretest items, with three hours to finish. Questions use four answer options and test recall, application and analysis.

What happens if I fail, and what does a retake cost?

You must wait 30 days before retaking. The current retake and rescheduling fee is USD 295 for members and USD 395 for nonmembers. The first sitting is included in program enrollment. For related background, see what the RMA certification is.

Ready to pass your RMA exam?

Put this into practice with free RMA questions across every exam domain.